Los Angeles, Calif., Oct. 17, 2004 – The winners of the 10th Annual American Choreography Awards were announced today at a spectacular ceremony featuring breath-taking performances, celebrity presenters, emotional tributes and dazzling dance clip compilations.

The awards program featured show-stopping performances by David Parsons, the gravity-defying Diavolo Dance Company, Emmy Award-winner Jason Samuels-Smith, who improvised tap to accompany the moving spoken-word poetry from Norman Lear’s nonpartisan register to vote campaign “Declare Yourself,” the high-flying kicks and leaps of Sideswipe, an extreme martial-arts based group that blends traditional Karate and Tae Kwon Do with gymnastics and acrobatics, and Rich and Tone Talauega in an extravagant hip hop number featuring the stylings of Tommy the Clown and the Krumpers. The stunning opening number, choreographed by ACA Director Ramon del Barrio and former Hubbard Street dancer Francisco Avina, featured 25 dancers from Celine Dion’s Las Vegas show, “A New Day” as well as ten L.A.-based dancers.

This year’s Honorees received special tributes recognizing their notable contributions to the art and craft of choreography for the camera. Educator Award recipient Ka-Ron Brown Lehman, the artistic director of the L.A. County School of the Arts, was moved by a performance from her former student and Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater principal dancer Matthew Rushing, accompanied by “Ten Commandments” vocalist Nita Whittaker. Walt Disney, who received a posthumous Innovator Award, was honored by a collection of rare, memorable animated clips. Career Achievement recipient Kenny Ortega received the surprise of the night when former bandmates Fee Waybill and the Tubes rocked the house. Carmen Electra, Jean-Claude Van Damme, Ben Vereen and Jasmine Guy were among the celebrity presenters.

Choreographers nominated in eight different categories of choreography for the camera – feature film, short film, television special, episodic and variety television, fight choreography, commercials and music videos competed for the dance in media’s highest honor of achievement

10th Annual American Choreography Awards – Honorees & Winners:

Career Achievement
Kenny Ortega

Educator Award
Ka-Ron Brown Lehman
Innovator Award
Walt Disney

Outstanding Achievement in Choreography – Commercials
Target “Changing Of The Guards” - Fatima Robinson

Outstanding Achievement in Choreography – Music Video
Missy Elliott “Pass Dat Dutch” – Hi-Hat, Anwar “Flii” Burton, Cicely Bradley & Olisa Thompson

Outstanding Achievement in Choreography – Short Film
Amelia - Edouard Lock

Outstanding Achievement in Choreography – Television Special
2003 Jerry Lewis MDA Labor Day Telethon: Opening Number - Jason Samuels Smith
Acts of Ardor - Paul Taylor

Outstanding Achievement in Choreography – Television Variety Series
MAD TV “Regional Championships” - Monie Adamson

Outstanding Achievement in Choreography – Television Episodic
Malcolm in the Middle “Jump Jump” - Fred Tallaksen

Outstanding Achievement in Choreography – Fight
Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl - George Marshall Ruge
Kill Bill Volume 2 - Keith Adams, Sonny Chiba, Quentin Tarantino & Yuen Woo-Ping

Outstanding Achievement in Choreography – Feature Film
The Triplets of Belleville - Sylvain Chomet
You Got Served - Dave Scott, Shane Sparks & Robert James Hoffman III

The winning choreographers were decided by seven committees comprised of media choreographers, casting directors, directors and producers with expertise in their respective categories. Agents, managers, their employees and submitting choreographers, producers and directors are not eligible and did not serve on the ACA Nomination and Voting Committee or vote on any of the nomination panels.

About the American Choreography Awards

Celebrating its tenth year in conjunction with the Academy of Dance on Film, the American Choreography Awards recognizes outstanding achievements in film, television, commercials, and music video to raise the awareness of the art and craft of choreography for the camera and to honor its creators. The organization also honors individuals who have made significant contributions to dance with annual Career Achievement, Educator, Innovator, and Governors Awards. Originally named the L.A. Dance Awards, and then the Fosses, the American Choreography Awards is recognized as the highest standard of achievement in choreography throughout the entertainment industry.

# # #
Media Contacts:
Hillary Smoot (310) 789-2446

Schwartzman & Associates, Inc.